Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our community here!

• Posted by Sigmar on January 25, 2021 at 10:58 pm

Hello! I am a first time floor installer for my new home and just finished prepping the floor with underlayment and am ready to begin laying Smartcore Pro LVP. Was hoping to have some questions answered: 1. Where do I start? The kitchen is in the process of being remodeled so I will hold off on laying the floor in the kitchen until the cabinets and countertops have been installed (about 4 weeks from now). I did want to start laying the floor in all the other areas so wasn’t sure if this changes strategy. 2. I have removed all the quarter round and left the base moulding. In some areas the LVP will slide under the base mouldings, however, some areas it will not. Should I remove or cut the base moulding so the LVP will slide under? My gut tells me I want to keep everything consistent. Thank you so much for your help!

Joe replied 3 years, 1 month ago 2 Members · 22 Replies
  • 22 Replies
  • Joe

Administrator
    January 25, 2021 at 11:27 pm

If you do not want to use quarter round again then I would remove and reinstall the base when the plank is done. Do you have a preferred direction you would like the plank to be installed?

• Sigmar

January 26, 2021 at 2:47 am

Here is some more info. I did some math using the equations in your video. The numbers actually worked out pretty nicely and I think I can go by this. Here are the numbers I came up with:

10 Planks = 71″

1 Plank = 7 1/8″ (3 9/16″ Half); Tongue 3/16″

Hallway Width: 36 1/2″ /2 = 18 1/4″

*It turns out if I place the seam directly in the middle I get each end piece in the hallway an equal width. I measured 18 1/4″ in two spots and lined them up with a laser level. I then measured the opposite side of the house in two locations to the laser line and the distances were 252 3/4″ and 252 1/2″. I can’t ask for more than that.