Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our community here!

• Posted by Melinda on December 10, 2022 at 4:01 pm

Really love all of your videos and was so excited to find that you offer this, as I have zero experience installing flooring. I am installing Mohawk solidtech founders trace in pecan. I am installing in every room except the room off from the right of the kitchen. I would like to install it there in the future, but initially decided not to since its the only room with good hardwood floor there. I wish now I had bought more to go ahead and do that room, but I will in the future if that’s possible?

The house is a mix of hardwood subfloor and hardwood floors. I’m sure there is wood subfloor under the hardwood but right now all floors are on the same level with each other and I wanted to avoid thresholds as much as possible. I tore up two layers of luan and vinyl in the kitchen and dining area. It was terrible. I’ve never seen so many staples and nails in my life. There is still one layer of vinyl in the kitchen. It looks like the glue down type and it is also level with the wood subfloor right now. I had planned to leave that and just go over top of it.

The photo of the kitchen shows an opening to the room to the right of it but I’m building a wall to close it in which is reflected in my drawing. My photos also don’t show a kitchen island, but I’m also in process of building that too and will secure it to the subfloor.